Vita

Thomas Peuschel – Conductor

Thomas Peuschel was born near Nuremberg in 1980.


After finishing school he studied piano, conducting and theory of music at the music academies of Nuremberg/Augsburg and Würzburg.  To further ground his conducting experience,  he was the assistant of GMD Daniel Klajner at the opera house in Würzburg.


After his diploma in 2006 he accepted a position at the opera house in Regensburg. There he successfully conducted several operas and operettas, such as Maske in Blau, Gräfin Mariza, Don Pasquale as well as The Emperor of Atlantis. Concurrently, he was responsible for the musical direction of Haydns opera L’isola disabitata.


In 2008 he was engaged at Staatstheater Darmstadt, where he assumed the musical direction of the world famous rock opera Jesus Christ Superstar. He has conducted, amongst others, performances of La Juive, Hänsel und Gretel, Carmina Burana and The Magic Flute and widened his opera repertoire with Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, The Bartered Bride and Der Rosenkavalier. In addition to his activities at the Staatstheater Darmstadt he worked with the orchestra of the Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen conducting their annual new years concert at several occasions.

In 2010 he was appointed Kapellmeister at the Staatstheater Saarbrücken and within his first year became the musical director of La belle Helene and La Cenerentola.

During that time, he also assumed the musical direction of Frank Zappa’s The Yellow Shark and the german premiere of The Book of Disquiet accompanied by the famous Klaus Maria Brandauer.


In addition, he conducted performances of Turandot and Fidelio.









During his second year, he continued his previous musical direction success with I Capuleti e i Montecchi, Il Barbiere di Siviglia and Prokofiev’s ballet Cinderella and diversified his conducting repertoire with Ariadne auf Naxos, Madama Butterfly and Eugene Onegin. One  pinacle in his budding career was his rendition of Wolfgang Rihm’s opera Die Eroberung von Mexiko in April 2012, which received high praises not only by the audience but particularly by the media and the composer himself..


In the 2012/2013 season he assumed the musical direction of Aladino e la lampada magica by Nino Rota, Turn of the Screw by Benjamin Britten and conducted the annual new year’s eve concert with the Saarländische Staatsorchester.

In March 2013 he had his debut at the Theater Basel with Prokofiev’s Cinderella.


In the 2013/2014 season he continued his successful work at the Staatstheater Saarbrücken as musical director of Johann Strauss‘ The Bat, Bertholt Brecht‘s Three Penny Opera and Massenet‘s Werther and received great appraisal from critics as well as the audience.

He also tributed a concert to the works of famous sooundtrack composer John Williams.

He concluded his work at SST with the Open-Air Concert „Classic meets Pop“ in collaboration with renown guitarist Thomas Blug, which resulted in a great success and a nation wide TV broadcast.


In 2014/2015 he was qppointed the position of Kapellmeister and deputy chief of orchestra at Theater Plauen-Zwickau. Here he will broaden his impressive repertoire with concerts and productions such as Lucia di Lammermoor, Le nozze di Figaro, Carmen and Faust.

Vita

Thomas Peuschel wurde 1980 in Nürnberg geboren.


Nach dem Abitur studierte er Klavier, Dirigieren und  Musiktheorie an den Musikhochschulen von Nürnberg und Würzburg. Bereits während des Studiums arbeitete Thomas Peuschel als Assistent des GMD Daniel Klajner am Theater Würzburg.


Sein erstes Engagement als Solorepetitor mit Dirigierverpflichtung führte ihn 2006 ans Theater Regensburg, wo er mit großem Erfolg Vorstellungen von Opern und Operetten wie Maske in Blau, Gräfin Mariza, Don Pasquale sowie Der Kaiser von Atlantis dirigierte. Darüber hinaus wurde ihm die musikalische Leitung von Haydns Oper L’isola disabitata übertragen.


Während seines Engagements am Staatstheater Darmstadt übernahm er die musikalische Leitung der Rockoper Jesus Christ Superstar und dirigierte mehrere Vorstellungen von La Juive, Hänsel und Gretel, Carmina Burana sowie Die Zauberflöte und konnte sein Opernrepertoire um Stücke wie Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Die verkaufte Braut und Der Rosenkavalier erweitern.

In 2010 arbeitete er auch mit der renommierten Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen zusammen, mit welcher er das Neujahrskonzert an verschiedenen Spielstätten gestaltete.

Seit der Spielzeit 2010/2011 ist er als Kapellmeister am Staatstheater Saarbrücken engagiert. Dort übernahm er bereits in seiner ersten Spielzeit die Leitung der Opernproduktionen Die schöne Helena und La Cenerentola.


Darüber hinaus hatte er die musikalische Leitung des interdisziplinären Uraufführungprojektes The Yellow Shark von Frank Zappa sowie der deutschen Erstaufführung von Das Buch der Unruhe mit Klaus Maria Brandauer.






Auch wurde ihm die musikalische Leitung mehrerer Vorstellungen von Turandot und Fidelio übertragen. In der zweiten Spielzeit konnte er nahtlos an diese Erfolge anknüpfen. So leitete er die Produktionen I Capuleti e i Montecchi, den Barbier von Sevilla, und das Ballet Cinderella und erweiterte sein Repertoire mit Dirigaten von Ariadne auf Naxos, Madama Butterfly und Eugen Onegin. Von der Presse viel beachtet und hoch gelobt durch den Komponisten selbst war vor allem seine Leistung als musikalischer Leiter der Rihm-Oper Die Eroberung von Mexiko im April 2012.

Im März 2013 gab er am Theater Basel sein Debut mit Prokofievs Cinderella.


In der Spielzeit 2013/2014 konnte er mit Produktionen wie Johann Strauss‘ Die Fledermaus, Bertholt Brechts Dreigroschenoper und Massenets Werther beim Publikum und bei der Presse große Erfolge verzeichnen. Das von ihm geleitete Filmkonzert, ein Tribut an den weltberühmten John Williams, knüpfte nahtlos an diese Erfolge an.

Zum Abschluss seiner Tätigkeit am SST dirigierte Thomas Peuschel beim Saarbrücker Altstadtfest das Open Air Konzert „Classic meets Pop“, eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem bekannten Gitarristen Thomas Blug, welches auch durch das Saarländische Fernsehen auch national übertragen wurde.


Seit der Spielzeit 2014/2015 ist Thomas Peuschel 1. Kapellmeister und stellvertretender GMD am Theater Plauen-Zwickau, wo er sein breites Repertoire unter anderem durch Konzerte und Produktionen wie Lucia di Lammermoor, Hochzeit des Figaro, Carmen und Faust vertieft.



Thomas Peuschel – Dirigent